Resources

The resources page is packed full of goodness!

There are links to over 30 websites; be inspired by news of the professionals, enter an event and get training advice, then spoil yourself with some new gear.  Check out the beginners’ guides and video tips and there is also a library of books owned by club members which you can borrow.

Links

General Triathlon

International Triathlon Union www.triathlon.org

British Triathlon www.britishtriathlon.org

Triathlon Scotland www.triathlonscotland.org

BBC Sport http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/other_sports/triathlon/default.stm

Guardian http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/triathlon

Active.com www.active.com/triathlon

220 Triathlon http://www.220triathlon.com/

Tri247 www.tri247.com

Tri Radar http://www.triradar.com/

Swimming

Winter Swim www.winterswim.co.uk

Swim Smooth www.swimsmooth.com

Swimming.org (British Swimming) http://www.swimming.org/swimfit

Inverness Swimming Club http://www.spanglefish.com/invernessswimmingclub/index.asp

Scottish Swimming http://www.scottishswimming.com/index.php?id=2291

Cycling

Visit Scotland Cycle Routes http://active.visitscotland.com/find_route/highlands/

Routes 2 Ride http://www.routes2ride.org.uk/scotland/

British Cycling http://www.britishcycling.org.uk/recreation/article/Where-to-Ride–Scotland-0

Cycling Performance Tips www.cptips.com

Moray Firth Cycling Club http://www.mfcc.org.uk/forum/

Running

Runblogger www.runblogger.com

Running Technique Tips www.runningtechniquetips.com

Nairn Road Runners www.nairnroadrunners.co.uk

Jog Scotland http://www.jogscotland.org.uk/

Run 4 It Blog http://www.run4it.com/blog/

Moray Road Runnershttp://www.morayroadrunners.com/

Events

Entry Central www.entrycentral.com

Triathlon Scotland Events Diary http://www.triathlonscotland.org/events.cfm

Born 2 Run http://www.born2run.co.uk/Pages/Home.aspx

Facilities

Highland Council Facilities http://www.highland.gov.uk/leisureandtourism/sportsfacilities/

Highland Independent Facilities http://www.highland.gov.uk/leisureandtourism/sportsfacilities/independentfacilities.htm

Inverness Leisure http://www.invernessleisure.co.uk/

Shopping

Wiggle www.wiggle.co.uk

Chain-Reaction Cycles www.chainreactioncycles.co.uk

The Tri Centre www.thetricentre.com

Evans Cycle www.evanscycles.com

She Active www.sheactive.co.uk

Trek Bikes www.trekbikes.com

Video Tips

Open Water Swimming

Cycling

Running

Transition

Top Tips for Race Day

Alternative Training Idea..!

Beginners’ Guides

So you have been convinced to sign up for your first competition…

TriathlonScotland Beginners Guide
TriathaNewbie.com

Library

Be Iron Fit: Time Efficient Training Secrets for Ultimate Fitness (Don Fink)
Tri Power: The Ultimate Strength Training, Core Conditioning, Endurance and Flexibility Program for Triathlon Success (Paul Frediani, William Smith)
The Triathlete’s Training Bible (Joe Friel)
The Triathlete’s Training Diary (Joe Friel)
Run Workouts for Runners and Triathletes (Timothy Noakes et al)
Swim Workouts for Triathletes (Gale Bernhardt, Nick Hansen)
Training Plans for Multisport Athletes (Gale Bernhardt)
Sports Training Principles (Frank Dick)
The Complete Manual of Sports Science (Wilf Paish)
Bike Scotland Book Two – 40 classic Highlands and Islands Routes (Fergal MacErlean)
Runner’s Coach – Beginner’s Guide to Running (Runner’s World Magazine)
Complete Guide to Running (Runner’s World Magazine)
The Beginner’s Guide to Triathlon (220 Triathlon Magazine)
Triathlon Getting Started (DVD) (USA Triathlon)
Back Issues of Triathlon Plus and 220 Triathlon Magazine from July 2010 onwards (monthly) including supplements.